Cindytalk - The Wind is Strong... (Limited Edition of 400 on White-in-Clear Vinyl) - Good Records To Go

Cindytalk - The Wind is Strong... (Limited Edition of 400 on White-in-Clear Vinyl)


  • $22.99
    Unit price per 

“All sound is music,” says Cinder, who employed tape hiss, ticking clocks, flicking flames, and distant whispers in the sonic tapestry of her third album, The Wind Is Strong. Although Cinder included the subtitle “A Cindytalk diversion” in the sleeve notes, The Wind Is Strong… is crucial to the project’s canon, demonstrating the versatility of her unique ear and intuition. The cinematic album: a mix of musique concréte, haunted reverie, and desolate beauty, remains one of the most ambitious – and elusive -in the Cindytalk discography. Originating as a soundtrack to a film by Ivan Unwin entitled Eclipse (The Amateur Enthusiast’s Guide To Virus Deployment), the album was inspired heavily by Alan Splet’s eerie sound design for David Lynch’s Eraserhead. Long out of print, the fifteen tracks flow between field recordings, piano vignettes, and metallic haze – a hybrid palette Cinder deemed “ambi-dustrial.”

The film was originally slated for release by Factory Records’ video division, Ikon. Unfortunately, Ikon collapsed on the eve of the project’s completion, so the film was never distributed. Their label at the time, Midnight Music, repackaged Cindytalk’s score as an LP in 1990 under the name The Wind Is Strong – A Sparrow Dances, Piercing Holes in Our Sky.

- A -

1. Landing
2. Firstsight
3. To The Room
4. Waiting
5. Through Flowers
6. Secondsight
7. Through The Forest
8. Arrival
9. Is There A Room For Hire
10. Choked I

- B -

11. Choked II
12. Dream Ritual
13. Morning Bell
14. On Snowmoor
15. Angel Wings