John Grant - Boy From Michigan (Deluxe Boxset Edition) - Good Records To Go

John Grant - Boy From Michigan (Deluxe Boxset Edition)


  • $124.99
    Unit price per 

2x 140g black vinyl, gatefold sleeve with spot glitter eye, 2-part box with velvet flock material, 36-page photo booklet, 5x art prints, trading cards, 4-panel lyric poster and printed inner sleeves

Produced by longtime friend Cate Le Bon, Boy from Michigan is Grant's most autobiographical and melodic work to date. Grant stopped being a boy in Michigan aged twelve, when his family moved to Denver, Colorado, shifting rust to bible belt, a further vantage point to watch collective dreams unravel. Across 12 tracks, Grant lays out his past for careful cross-examination. In a decade of making records by himself, he has playfully experimented with mood, texture and sound, all the better for actualizing the seriousness of his thoughts. At one end of his musical rainbow, he is the battle-scarred piano-man, at the other, a robust electronic auteur. Boy from Michigan seamlessly marries both. With Le Bon at the helm, Grant pared back his zingers, maximizing the emotional impact of the melodies. A clarinet forms the bedrock of a song. One pre-chorus feels lifted from vintage Human League. There is a saxophone solo. Boy from Michigan ultimately swings between ambient and progressive, calm and livid.

A1 Boy From Michigan
A2 County Fair
A3 The Rusty Bull
B1 The Cruise Room
B2 Mike And Julie
B3 Best In Me
C1 Rhetorical Figure
C2 Just So You Know
C3 Dandy Star
D1 Your Portfolio
D2 The Only Baby
D3 Billy