Lyle Lovett - Joshua Judges Ruth


  • $39.99
    Unit price per 

Lyle Lovett found his space and works it to this day. He's done so with ample style, but never let's form follow function. To listen to 'Joshua Judges Ruth' is to hear the stories as the stars. He has cannily cast himself as the narrator, with eyes that dart, commentary that cuts and a nod of recognition to those attuned to his type of storytelling, in which moments of levity sometimes distract from a deeper gravity that always reveals itself. He defined, then refined, this form of expression. 'Joshua Judges Ruth' isn't the sound of a musician offering a dare, but rather an artist betting on himself: Four years after 'Here I Am,' with this album, he appears to be saying 'Here I Am.'

- Side 1 -
1 I've Been to Memphis
2 Church
3 She's Already Made Up Her Mind
4 North Dakota
5 You've Been So Good Up to Now
6 All My Love Is Gone

- Side 2 -
1 Since the Last Time
2 Baltimore
3 Family Reserve
4 She's Leaving Me Because She Really Wants to
5 Flyswatter / Ice Water Blues (Monte Trenckmann's Blues)
6 She Makes Me Feel Good