M. Ward - Migration Stories - Good Records To Go

M. Ward - Migration Stories


  • $25.99
    Unit price per 

Indie retail exclusive colored vinyl - OPAQUE WHITE. "It was in winter 18/19 - I flew to Montreal to meet with Tim Kingsbury, Richard Reed Parry, Craig Silvey and Teddy Impakt at Le Studio Du Arcade Fire. It was a fine time with a dream team in a city I love. Winter in beautiful Quebec. Les semaines les plus froides de ma vie.

I had a bunch of demos that were inspired by migration stories I had heard from friends or read in newspapers while on tour in Europe and North America. I remember being struck by the similarities of the stories I heard from both continents and how really only the names of the powerful and the powerless had changed - thinking, "Is this the future? Is this our future?" Some time went by, the stories wove together and I remember them now closer to characters in a dream of how people could treat each other than any kind of front-page news realism. I think music subconsciously - whether writing or listening - is a filter for me - helping to process all the bad news into something new to build from - some records to me are like self-fulfilling prophecies - visualizing change to wish something into being - those records inspired this one." - M. Ward

  • 1 Migration of Souls
  • 2 Heaven's Nail and Hammer
  • 3 Coyote Mary's Traveling Show
  • 4 Independent Man
  • 5 Stevens' Snow Man
  • 6 Unreal City
  • 7 Real Silence
  • 8 Along the Santa Fe Trail
  • 9 Chamber Music
  • 10 Torch
  • 11 Rio Drone