Various Artists   - Just Leg It!!! - Good Records To Go

Various Artists - Just Leg It!!!


  • $19.99
    Unit price per 

"19 Party Instrumentals for Grown Folks." Compilation of partytime dance tunes from Memphis TN & North Mississippi. Produced, recorded and mixed by Bruce Watson (Fat Possum/Big Legal Mess), each side is dedicated to the location in which it was recorded. Side A - "Memphis Side" and Side B - "Mississippi Side" consisting of artists such as producer/engineer Matt Ross-Spang (Jason Isbell, John Prine, Elvis Presley), Jimbo Mathus (Squirrel Nut Zippers, Andrew Bird), Matt Patton (Drive by Truckers). Producer Bruce Watson would hold get-togethers at his studios both in North Mississippi and more recently Memphis, TN to record his musician/friends in an "anything goes" atmosphere. Pulling inspiration from old 45's from Bruce's personal collection, he'd capture the musicians recording together on the fly, trying to conjure some of the hoodoo from those old recordings while adding a bit of hoodoo of his own. About fifteen musicians in all make up the roster for these recordings that were made over a six year period. Musicians: Matt Ross-Spang (Jason Isbell, John Prine, Elvis Presley) Jimbo Mathus (Squirrel Nut Zippers, Andrew Bird) Will Sexton Mark Stuart Stu Cole (Squirrel Nut Zippers) Bronson Tew John Paul Keith Matt Patton (Drive by Truckers) Justin Peter Kinkel-Schuster (Water Liars, JPKS, Marie Lepanto) George Sluppick Jack Oblivian (Jack Oblivian, Tav Falco) Will McCarley Alex Greene Eric Carlton (Jimbo Mathus & The Tri-State Coalition)
Hypnotic Beast/ Just Leg It!!!/The Slick Lizard/A Junky And A Thief/The Fox Den/Black Diamond Express/Wild Bill's Midnight Shakedown/Snipe's Groove/Hornet's Nest/Slingshot Charlie/Turning The Duke/Plimpy's Pleasure Palace/The Pittbull/Leno's Theme/A Little Bit Of A Convict/Hot Spot/Delta Machine Gun/The Creep/Bricks and Bullets