Various - Goodfellas (Music From The Motion Picture) [Blue Vinyl]


  • $24.99
    Unit price per 

It was in September 1990 when director Martin Scorsese released epic crime drama, Goodfellas. Starring Robert DeNiro, Joe Pesci and Ray Liotta, the cinematic masterpiece arrived with an equally stellar soundtrack. Tony Bennett, Aretha Franklin, Cream--one of the finest marriages of movies and music happens in the legendary death sequence featuring Derek and the Dominos' "Layla (Piano Exit)." It's a scene so impactful that The Ringer published a feature story about it.

"It taught Scorsese that you could choreograph a film's attitude, so to speak, with music," Glenn Kenny, film historian and author of a book recounting the making of Goodfellas, Made Men, says in the post. "What Scorsese does in his films is take the songs from being reflections of the character’s consciousness to functioning components of that consciousness, and of the consciousness of the filmmaker as well. Scorsese has talked of a 'twilight of the gods' feel for the sequence, the need to emphasize that despite the fact that these murder victims were amoral criminals, they were also human beings."

The Goodfellas soundtrack album on vinyl has always been a rare find, having only been pressed in a couple of small runs in the early 1990s. This 1LP release will be the first global pressing. Limited to just 15,000 copies, this dark blue vinyl beauty is only available at brick and mortar indie record stores. See the full tracklist below.

Side A:
1. Tony Bennett - Rags To Riches
2. The Moonglows - Sincerely
3. The Cadillacs - Speedo
4. Billy Ward And His Dominoes - Stardust
5. The Harptones - Life Is But A Dream
6. The Shangrilas - Remember (Walkin' In The Sand)

Side B:
1. Aretha Franklin - Baby, I Love You
2. Bobby Darin - Beyond The Sea
3. Cream - Sunshine Of Your Love
4. Muddy Waters - Mannish Boy
5. Derek And The Dominoes - Layla (Piano Exit)